Get the Look: Simple Pretty with a Pop of Pink

4 Nov
A quick & easy go-to for the days you're rushing... or just being lazy!

A quick & easy go-to for the days you’re rushing… or just being lazy!

You’ll quickly learn that as girly and frilly as I am, I’m not into the heavy layers makeup thing. More power to the goddesses who are, but I prefer something natural that doesn’t take a long time and still looks like me. Now there are days, like if I’m attending a fancy-shmancy event, where I glam it up. For my day to day, though, I usually keep it cute and light. I particularly love this look because it takes no time at all and it looks really pretty and clean. Because it is so simple, I added a pop of pink to give it a little extra umph. Here’s what I used and what I did:

First, I brushed an even layer of Clinique Stay-Matte Sheer Pressed Powder in “Stay Nutmeg” across my face. I love this powder because it’s light, oil-free and gives just enough coverage without looking cakey. You can find Clinique at Macy’s and other department stores and at Sephora.

1. Clinique Stay-Matte Sheer Pressed Powder

Clinique Stay-Matte Sheer Pressed Powder

Then I stroked one line of NYC Cosmetics Liquid Eyeliner in black to both my upper and lower lash lines on each eye. After the liner dried, I coated my lashes with Maybelline Great Lash in “blackest black.” I personally like to apply about 3 coats of mascara to the top lashes and just one to the bottom lashes. Go more or less, depending on how dramatic you want your eyes. Both of these products can be found at any drug store, Walmart, Target, etc.

You can't see the writing on my liner because it rubbed off but you can find NYC Cosmetics and Maybelline at any drug store, Walmart, etc.

You can’t see the writing on my liner because it rubbed off but you can find NYC Cosmetics and Maybelline at any drug store, Walmart, etc.

For a little definition to the cheekbones, I highlighted them with MAC Mineralize Blush in “Love Thing.” To apply my blush, I always smile and then I start at the cheek and brush back at a slight inclined angle toward the mid ear. Don’t actually apply blush on the ear though; just use it as a guide and stop right before you get to it. Obviously do this for both cheeks.

MAC Mineralize Blush in "Love Thing" is my fave and everyday go-to! Get it at MAC stores.

MAC Mineralize Blush in “Love Thing” is my fave and everyday go-to! Get it at MAC stores.

To seal the deal, I popped off my smackers with the Sephora brand Rouge Cream Lipstick in “Mr. Lover.” It’s a beautiful bright fuschia that’ll look good on a variety of skin tones and it’s only $12.50! Sephora has some amazing high-quality products that work just as good as the other brands they carry in store but at a fraction of the cost.

Sephora Rouge Cream Lipstick in "Mr. Lover."

Sephora Rouge Cream Lipstick in “Mr. Lover.”

And that’s it! It’s really simple and the whole look can be done in about 5 minutes. You don’t have to go out and buy these exact brands. If you have the same products but by different brands, then use what you have to save on money. Also, play with other lip colors too. Go red for something more classic or blush pink for something more neutral and soft. Just play around and have fun with it!

xoxo

xoxo! Kisses to you all 🙂 lol!

Love you much & Ttyl,

Essy

2 Responses to “Get the Look: Simple Pretty with a Pop of Pink”

  1. Karen November 4, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Gorge!

    Like

    • Essence November 4, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      Thanks, Karen! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

