Thug Motivation: For the Tupac Lover in You!

31 Dec

tupac

Hey, y’all!

Okay, soooooo, ummmmm, yea… somebody by the name of DJ Warhawk put 2Pac’s “How Do You Want It” verses on Kelly Rowland’s “Motivation” and ummmmm, yea… Whoever you are sir or ma’am, I would like to thank you on behalf of womankind and ask God to double his blessings on your brilliant soul. I was browsing YouTube out of boredom and came across the link. I don’t know if I’m just extra late (which is very possible), or if for whatever reason this remix didn’t generate a big enough buzz and get radio spins. I’ll assume the latter since as of now it only has 5, 173 views and 20 likes. As soon as I heard it I was wrapped up in his “thug passion” voice over the sensual beat and reminded why even as a little 8 year old girl I had an obsessive crush on hip-hop’s poetic bad boy. Tupac is every “good girl’s” dream: simultaneously rough and sensitive, street and intellectual, both urban and mainstream culturally aware, an activist and undeniably sexy. We appreciate the late legend for so many reasons, especially his imprint on music and social consciousness, and often recall those reasons every time we hear “Brenda’s Got a Baby,” “I Wonder If Heaven Got a Ghetto” and other numbers from his repertoire. But this ode triggers another appreciation. One for his bald head, thick and jet-black eyebrows, wide and seductive eyes, authoritative but somehow still gentle voice, Thug Life tattoo, perfectly sculpted abs, that tiny nose ring and every other detail that made him one of entertainment culture’s biggest sex icons. So without anymore of my infatuation, here’s the track that I’m currently listening to for the bazillionth time. Listen here!

Rest Peacefully Tupac,

Essence Shakur [insert airy sigh and butterflies here ]

2 Responses to “Thug Motivation: For the Tupac Lover in You!”

  1. gwen December 31, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    Essence you must’ve been in my head or something. Yesterday I was in a mood for Tupac and all of his sexiness. I watched Poetic Justice just to reminisce. Such ashame he was taking from us so soon but this remix was a wonderful ode to his memory!

    Like

  2. Tuttie Ross January 6, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    ON REPEAT!!!! You KNOW Tupac is my HUSBAND! This mashup is PERFECTION! Thanks for posting this greatness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

