My Skincare Regime… For Now, Anyway

14 Jan

photo 4

Hey Girls!

I get a lot of questions on social media about by skincare regimen. To be frank, it really changes often. I’m always trying out something new or getting a sorted variety of goods in swag bags at events, so what I’m doing today may not be what I’m doing a few months from now. I do try to keep a little consistency, just so I can get a good feel of the products’ effectiveness. My most recent regime has been going since about September and so far, so good. I’ve tweaked a few things here and there, so here’s the most recent version.

Before starting anything, make sure you’ve taken off all makeup. Neutrogena Make-Up Remover Cleansing Towelettes  are really good and you can get them just about anywhere.

Step 1: I exfoliate my face, only about 3-4 times a week, with Clinique Exfoliating Scrub. I just massage it on my face with my fingers for about a minute. I then rinse it off and follow-up the rinse by wiping my face with a wet rag. I tend to stick to room temp water for this step.

Exfoliate

Exfoliate

Step 2: Before, I was using department store cleansers but my mom actually put me on Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser. She was using it and quite a few celebrities I’ve interviewed swear by it as well. It’s super affordable, lasts forever and it works really well. I’ve heard people say you should use cold water when rinsing it off but I personally wait and stick to room temp because I don’t want to close my pores just yet.

Cleanse

Cleanse

Step 3: There are actual facial toners out there, and I’ve used a few, but lately I’ve just been dabbing a cotton ball with T.N. Dickinson’s Original Witch Hazel and sweeping it over my face. I usually let it sit for about 10 minutes while I pick out something to wear, and then I splash cold water on my face and let it air dry. The cold water is my final rinse and it closes up my pores, making them appear smaller.

Tone

Tone

Step 4: The last and final step is moisture, which is very important no matter your skin type. To keep consistent with the cleanser, I do the Cetaphil Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 15. I’ve also used just a tiny-tiny dab of Ashley’s Naturals Baby Buttercream instead of the Cetaphil in some instances and I really like it. It is very creamy and heavy, so I don’t recommend it if your face is really oily and you’re acne prone. I don’t know if it could worsen things or not, but because I don’t know, I don’t recommend it.

Moisturize

Moisturize

Now, every gal’s (or guy’s) skin is different so my ritual may not work for you, or you may need to adjust. My skin is pretty normal, meaning not too oily or too dry, but I can get a little oily in my t-zone occasionally. If your skin is more on the oily or dry side or just super sensitive, go with products that specifically address your skin type. Look at the ingredients and look out for labels like, “oil-free,” “for severely dry skin,” “sensitive formula,” etc. Cleanse your face in the morning and before you go to bed. I can’t stress moisture enough either. Even if you’re oily, find a moisturizer that works for you!  And of course, drink lots and lots and lots of… Kool-Aiiiiiiid. JOKING! Drink lots of water. Here’s how you can kind of gage if you’re drinking enough water. Your pee (or urine for the proper) should be clear and odorless. If it’s yellow and/or smells, something ain’t right and it’s probably showing up on your skin. If you’re a newbie, work your way up. Start with one bottle then two and then so forth. Hot green tea is supposedly good too. I drink it often sweetened with honey instead of sugar. I can’t tell if it helps my skin, but it does help my metabolism and keeps my tummy flat so it’s still a win!

Not that you care about what I do in the shower, but in addition to belting the heck outta Beyoncé’s “Drunk In Love,” I also just start using these Deep Cleansing Exfoliating Gloves by Evritouch. They’re basically like wash rags, but gloves. You put them on, apply your soap or shower gel and get to scrubbin’ and dubbin’. I could feel the softness when I got out of the shower and put on my lotion. Again, I don’t recommend doing this daily because you don’t want to exfoliate too much, but a good 3 times a week is probably okay. I got my gloves at Walmart but you may find them other places too.

Leave a Reply

