The BeautiFILES: Navigating Strengths, Insecurities, Guilty Pleasures + More with Media Personality Niekeisha Pryce!

13 Mar

Nikkie_edited14Two years ago, I got a phone call from a cheery and pleasantly raspy voice, asking to interview me for a feature in my undergrad alma mater’s magazine. Her name was Niekeisha “Nikkie P.” Pryce and instantly I warmed to her high energy! She was a recent graduate of FAMU, my dad’s alma mater, and pursuing a career in media. The interview quickly turned into a good ol’ girl chat, as we had so much in common. By the end of the chat it felt like we were lifelong friends. Two years later, it’s no surprise to me that Nikkie is well on her way of accomplishing all she envisioned and more. This year Nikkie will be debuting her new show Nikkie Navigates, airing over 124,000 homes in North Florida, in which she travels to give viewers the in on the best restaurants and attractions! I recently had another girl talk with Niekeisha to talk her strengths, insecurities, guilty pleasures and more. Check it out below!

Being in front of the camera requires a certain level of confidence, but in the same token we’re all humans and experience insecurities. What are you most confident about and what are you most insecure about? How do you conquer your insecurities so they don’t hinder you? I can say until this day I still get butterflies. But, it’s something about being confident in the things you were called to do. So, after all the butterflies subside and the anxiety calms you can focus on getting the job done. I’m the most confident in my ability to get results. I am not perfect by any means but I do believe in working extremely “smart” and moving in Excellence. If you’re going to do it, do it right the first time. Everyone has insecurities and I believe at times I can be an over-achiever. Someone may hear that and say that’s definitely not an insecurity. But, for me I’m always going over and beyond and wanting every thing to be perfect and in place. I’m sure that can become a nuisance at times. I conquer my insecurities by gleaning from some of the greats in the media industry. No matter how many accolades you may receive or accomplishments you may reach you still have room to grow. If I continue to listen, learn and apply vital principles to my life then I can get over any insecurity that I may encounter.

The world of journalism can be very rush. If you received a press invite to Malia Obama’s 16th birthday bash and you could only ask her one question, what would it be and why? This is actually an awesome question! My hopes are that this invite will actually take place one day! My number one question for Malia would be how does she remain relatable to other teens her age? With all of the situations that she has to adjust to as the President’s daughter, how does she stay real and true? This is very important seeing that she is at the peak of her teenage years. I would want other teens her age to see that she’s just like them.

Congrats on the upcoming show, Nikkie Navigates! If there was a way you could navigate through any person’s mind, dead or alive, and film it, who would it be and why? I would navigate through the mind of Whitney Houston. She has left such a dynamic legacy for the world of professional singers to follow. I would want to navigate through her gift and inquire, “How in the world did she sing so effortlessly?” I love to sing although many believe that I don’t do it that well, but I sound amazing if you ask me. Lol!

I have several guilty pleasures, most of them surrounding food. What’s one of your guilty pleasures? I would have to say I am a foodie at heart. If anyone really knows me they know how much I delight in trying new dishes. It’s amazing how much food I can consume at one time. I am blessed to have the metabolism that I have. I’m just hoping that the honey bun I had last night doesn’t catch up to me later on in life. Lol.

Whether it be an experience, a skill or a person, what has helped you the most as a woman with dreams and how so? Experience has always been my teacher. Many may find this hilarious but I’m the one who would see the beauty in a flame and actually put my hand on it. Once I realize that I’ve been burnt by it I never visit that place again. I use that lesson in the many other places that life takes me. You don’t have to be burned by situations to learn. There are things that I would come across and just know it’s not for me, so I leave them be. In the same token, going through tough times really ignites greatness in a person. It builds character and most importantly keeps you humble.

In one word, what is “the essence of” your brand? The Essence of my brand is authenticity. It’s real, raw, and uncut. I am only able to be who God created me to be. I’m the funny, clumsy, loving, considerate, goofy person that I’ve been for the past 26 years of my life. I’m a young lady full of perfect imperfections. I’ve learned to be real and honest with myself and that has transitioned into my brand.

Where do you hope your brand to be in 7 years? I hope my brand will be discovered by human beings looking for a simple human moment; where nothing has to be forced or misunderstood. I hope my brand will reach people who desire to see positivity and life changing messages through media. With a tool as influential as media, I desire to touch lives at a large capacity. I plan to do that one television at a time.

2 Responses to “The BeautiFILES: Navigating Strengths, Insecurities, Guilty Pleasures + More with Media Personality Niekeisha Pryce!”

  1. Christi March 13, 2014 at 12:43 pm #

    What a great interview! She should bring her show to South Florida;-) I would definitely watch! Her skin is absolutely gorgeous too! I’m sure the camera loves her!

    Like

    • Nikkie P. March 20, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Thanks so much, Christi! God willing those doors will open up soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

