ESSENCE Magazine Reveals 3 May Covers & I Want them All + Their Ed-In-Chief Tweets Me!

1 Apr

photoHello Love Muffins!

Hope you’re enjoying your Tuesday! So remember yesterday’s post about Lupita Nyong’o’s beautiful “Essence Black Women in Hollywood” speech on how she struggled to accept her beautiful complexion? Well, I had no idea that the magazine would reveal their May issue today and include Lupita’s entire speech. Talk about perfect timing! I found out this morning when I tweeted Essence Editor-in-Chief Vanessa Bush and she tweeted me back.

As if I wasn’t already excited that Ms. Bush took a few seconds to “reply” and “favorite” my tweet, I then saw that the magazine shot not one, not two, but THREE covers for the May Beauty issue! And they are indeed BE-AU-TI-FULLLLLL! Solange, Erykah Badu and Ledisi each pose for their own Essence cover girl moment and give us extra life with a side of more life, plus a sprinkle of life on top! I’ll definitely be grabbing all three covers and mounting them on the top of my shelf as décor. They’ll be in good company as my other favorites (Tyra Feb ’08, Beyoncé Nov ’08, Whitney Apr ’12 and Oprah/Tyler Perry June ’13) sit there too for all who enter my apartment to see. What I really love about the cover choices is all three women are natural. Yes, natural as in hair, but moreso natural in existence. They’re some of the industry’s most authentic and uncompromising artists, and for all three of them to make their way on the #1 magazine for Black women is something worth celebrating! To an audience of millions of brown girls and women, this triple cover says there are rewards to being you as you are. I’m so excited about this and all that it represents. I felt a similar way when Janelle Monáe landed her CoverGirl Cosmetics endorsement. When it comes to beauty standards, we have lots of work to do, but it’s moments like this that remind us how far we’ve evolved! To beauty without bounds!

Erykah Ledisi solange

tweet fave

One Response to “ESSENCE Magazine Reveals 3 May Covers & I Want them All + Their Ed-In-Chief Tweets Me!”

  1. Christi April 1, 2014 at 10:55 am #

    Yay on the favorite!!!! And yeeeeesssss to these covers!!! It’s so refreshing to see some less familiar faces!!! Ladies that I love as well!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

