#ICANT: Lion Mane Weaves, Beat Faces, and Now Lace Front Eyebrows? When Will it End? (Lauryn Hill Save Us!!!)

2 Apr

photo*heavy sigh* I really don’t want to devote too much time to this post and I honestly debated in my mind if I should even write it. After a little more thought, however, I knew there was no way I could let it go unaddressed. Remember when our dear Lauryn Hill took to “Doo Wop” to give us all a valuable lesson in self-respect and love for our authentic selves? Yea, well her self-love teachings were pretty much in vain. Who could have predicted that “hair weaves like Europeans” and “fake nails done by Koreans” would be the gateway for lace front eyebrows 16 years later? Now, I’m not one to judge anybody’s get cute methods and measures, but lace. front. eyebrows?

This new “trend” was first brought to my attention last week when I was scrolling around Power 105.1 The Breakfast Club’s website. Co-host Charlamagne awards one unlucky person “donkey of the day” each morning. I saw lace front eyebrows listed in his lineup of donkeys, but I just couldn’t click it because I feared it would be what it sounded like. Today when I went back on the site, I saw it again, and instead of heeding to my good sense, I clicked. Sure enough, it’s exactly what it sounds like and now there are lace front eyebrows to go along with a bevy of other faux human parts. The only reason I can imagine anyone wearing lace front eyebrows is if he/she has alopecia or another condition that affects hair growth. Very understandable. To purchase strips of hair that require you to trim them, apply adhesive and then stick them on your actual face though just because you can and it’s Wednesday is pure nonsense to me. It’s just way too much. Glue? On your face?

I’ve worn weaves, I recently did a wig review, I’ve gotten my nails done a few times and I’ve slapped on some lashes for parties. Clearly I don’t see anything wrong with playing dress up on occasion, but it seems like we’re gradually turning this game of dress up into a very real and normal lifestyle. When will it end? Even this whole face beat (excessive makeup) trend is getting out of hand. Sure, dibble and dabble in your foundations and blushes. But when your before and after look like two totally different people, that’s not so hot. And what’s up with the long and big weaves that literally swallow your whole head? How you style and glam yourself is completely your call, but do know when it’s overboard. A 16-inch body wave wig, contoured bones that never existed, caked on foundation, Bratz doll lashes, clawing nails, and lace front (or heavily drawn) brows is a bit much, no? I just think we’re attempting to put a bandaid on a much bigger issue of vanity and an obsessive need to hide behind this mask of what we think looks good. This has been bothering me for quite a while now, and I really tried to not voice my opinion, but this last shenanigan left me no choice. Stop hiding and just be you, please :-).

“Don’t be a hard rock when you really are a gem.” -Lauryn Hill

Check out the audio of funny guy Charlamagne’s lace brow rant below!

 

3 Responses to “#ICANT: Lion Mane Weaves, Beat Faces, and Now Lace Front Eyebrows? When Will it End? (Lauryn Hill Save Us!!!)”

  1. Christi April 2, 2014 at 9:16 am #

    I caaaaaaaaaaan’t!!!! That is THE.MOST.RIDICULOUS. thing I have ever heard! These people are getting carried away! Like who thinks this sounds like a great idea, I think I’m going to create lace front EYEBROWS! I agree that if it were for someone with alopecia or stunted hair growth or any other medical reason, ok. But the likelihood is that it will be the girl with the fake hair, fake lashes, and beat to the point of unrecognizable face, that will be sporting these smh. It’s so absurd that it is laughable yet sad! Do you but at least with some air of authenticity!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shenine April 2, 2014 at 11:40 am #

    This is my first time hearing about this! literally shaking my head, I thought the recent on set of the one brow was the end all but no I see there is more… my thing is its so drag , if you’re only going to work or school hopefully one or the other each day why o why do you have to look like this? I am equally disappointed in the overall lack to take heed of our dear Lauryns words 🙂 #respect is just a minimum

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sudom121 May 27, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    How did i miss this one! lol i heard his donkey of the day! Lol i cant believe this is a real thing smh

    Like

Leave a Reply

