Patience is Key.

30 Apr

 

IMG_9698

Prepare, sit and be patient.

Hey, Pretty Person!

“Just be patient.” It’s one of those things that so easily rolls off our tongue in response to an antsy friend or family member, but how quickly we forget to take our own advice when it’s a matter that directly affects us. If you’re anything like me, you’re 1000% confident that in perfect timing that dream job will open up for your friend or your cousin will shed those last stubborn 20 pounds, but when you’re waiting on your own come-up, that same confidence seems to diminish a little… or a lot.

I want to be very careful about how I write this because I don’t at all want to complain. This ride as it pertains to my career has been so blessed, as I’ve told you guys several times. But at the moment, it seems like stuff is at a standstill. Lately things have been kind of blah as I’m doing the same thing over and over. With each opportunity to contribute an article, review a product, or attend a swanky event I’m ever so grateful, but I can’t help but ask myself, “Okay, what’s next alreadyyyyyyy?”. With the attention span of a 3 year old, I get bored very quickly. Once I tackle one feat, I’m ready for the next one. Not only is my attention growing thin, but there’s just so much more I want to do. Writing for me was never the end goal, but more so a means to an end. It’s a vehicle for a much larger media platform of challenging beauty standards, so you can imagine how writing about celebrities and spring trends can get a little mundane to me after while. Like many professions, mine is highly competitive, requires unwavering devotion, and your altitude rests on your attitude who you know in position of power.

Every so often I get flat out annoyed. I get sick and tired of reaching out to this contact and that contact, only to have him or her respond but then drop the ball, or never respond at all, or hit me with the “not at this time.” But in those moments of pent up frustration, that’s when I have to a) step back, reflect and remember to be grateful for progress thus far and b) be patient. One of my favorite Bible scriptures is Ecclesiates 3:1: 1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.

I love its trans-barrier message that things happen in seasons. Yes, sometimes things aren’t happening for us because we’ve done something to delay the process. But other times things aren’t happening simply because they’re not supposed to be in that particular season. We haven’t done anything wrong–it’s just not our time. As smart and qualified as we think we are, we’re not experts on life and the universe and the way it works. While we have much say-so in our destiny, we don’t have full control on when things will come into fruition, and there’s not a thing we can do about that. The only thing we can do is continue putting our best foot forward and remember that after persistence, patience is key.

If you’re doing everything you know in your heart to do, your time will come. Even in times we feel like everything is stagnant or regressing, it doesn’t mean that things aren’t moving forward. It just means we’re flawed humans with flawed vision, unable to see all the singular pieces working together for our long-term good. You may think that just because you’re a divorcee for three years now that the right one is never coming. For all you know, though, the love of your life could be a complete stranger who’s reestablishing him or herself after an unexpected financial setback during the same exact time you’re feeling lonely. He or she could be on the cusp of financial freedom right before they come into your life! Had he or she came a minute earlier, the two of you would have had to endure the stress of debt, which often leads to a cluster of other relationship problems. That’s just an example, but you get my drift. Do everything in your power to prepare yourself for whatever it is you want to receive, sit, and be patient. Your time is coming!

“Don’t you worry, don’t you worry, child. See Heaven’s got a plan for youuuu.”– Swedish House Mafia. That song is my ja-zaaaaaaaaaammmmm!

❤ you much!

Essy-pooh 😉

 

2 Responses to “Patience is Key.”

  1. Juanita April 30, 2014 at 11:06 am #

    This article came right on time! Such excellent confirmation. Thank you for continuing to share your story and being a wonderful source of inspiration. God bless you and I’m so looking forward to seeing you enjoy the many blessings that God has in store for you xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

