Natural Hair Products I Swear By!

16 May

photoHeeeeeeey, y’aaaaall (in my down south drawl)!

It’s Friday! I love weekends because while catching up on Netflix you can fix your hurr. Getting your hair right is all about the products though, and because spilling beauty secrets with my girlfriends is one of my favorite things to do, here’s a list of a few products I swear by! You can use them even if you’re not natural or transitioning.

Giovanni Eco Chic Cosmetics Ultra Moist Collection (in the green bottles): Obsessed is the only way to express my feelings with this line of products. It works moisture magic on my thick hair and leaves it unbelievably soft. The shampoo and conditioner work to cleanse without drying strands, while the mask restores and detangles–which is a biggie for us curly and kinky girls! The anti-frizz is quite awesome too and perfect to use as a styling agent in between shampoos. Best part about it all is that it’s not crazy expensive. Only $7.99 to $8.99 each!

Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Damage Repair Hair & Scalp Serum: If you have dry scalp and/or hair this is for you! My hair was really soft and pillowy, but my scalp was always dry until I discovered this gem. Squeezing a few drops of this directly to my scalp and massaging them in took care of any and every little dry patch. It’s not heavy or thick and doesn’t make your hair feel nasty and greasy. You can get it at Target for $12.99, and it lasts a long time.

Afroveda’s Pitta Cocolatte Moisturizing Hair Cream & PUR Whipped Hair Gelly: Use these two right after each other and your hair will literally want to kiss me for putting you on such goodness. AfroVeda is one of those brands where everything is amazing, but if you can’t collect everything these two will certainly quench your curls. I also noticed the most hair growth when I was using these two consisitently. The hair cream ($17.50) is like a conditioning agent, perfect after shampoos; and the gelly ($13.50) is great for defining curls and styling. I only used the cream after cleansing and the gelly like every few days. I do a lot of wash-and-gos, but you can also use the gelly for twist and braid sets. Wonder Workerrrrs!

Ouidad Curl Recovery Melt Down Extreme Repair Mask: At $14 for 2 ounces and $40 for 6, it’s a little pricy but if you can fit it in your budget then it’s definitely worth a buy! The “luxurious treatment” penetrates seemingly every little strand for a soft and shiny finish. Every time I use this my hair is significantly richer looking and feels noticeably softer. My favorite thing about the mask though is that it’s like a detangler too. After I apply it to my hair, I work it in with my fingers and I can comb through my thick hair without it tangling.

Leave a Reply

