The Skin Secret I Discovered by Accident!

7 Jul

skin secret

A happy me yesterday after my new and quick skincare step ūüôā

Morning, girls!

So you know when you’re super tired, stressed, or recovering from a long weekend of fun and your skin looks kind of dull and lifeless? In addition to not looking your best, you don’t feel your best. When your skin looks good, you feel good and your confidence shines a little bit brighter. After a pretty intense week, my skin didn’t look or feel like normal when I woke up yesterday. It was clear that I’d missed¬†way too many hours of sleep.¬†I went about my daily skincare regimen, but made a slight change in one of my steps with no expectation of a different outcome. To my surprise though, my skin restored to its usual lively state and my moisturizer even went on smoother. I loved the results so much and just had to share!

Instead of applying my cleanser first, I started off with my Clinique Exfoliating Scrub. I only use it¬†three or¬†four days a week because it’s pretty strong. I was in a bit of a rush, so instead of waiting a few minutes to rinse, I hopped in the shower to maximize my time. After I got out of the shower, I put on my lotion and got dressed while the scrub was still on. After all of that, I finally rinsed¬†it off and instantly my skin felt extra smooth and soft. I’m assuming the steam from the shower and the increased time really allowed the ingredients to penetrate my pores deeper. I proceeded with my daily cleanser and moisturizer, and my moisturizer went on smoother too. I didn’t put on as much as I usually do and it was still enough. My blah skin was back to its vibrant and glowey¬†norm, and my face makeup didn’t have to put in as much work either. I sweeped on a layer of Clinique Stay-Matte Sheer Pressed Powder and was good to go! It’s definitely worth a try, especially if your skin looks and feels tired. You still need to get your sleep and drink lots of water, but if you happen to fall off the wagon, this is a¬†quick fix that’ll buy you some extra time before you start looking a total wreck.¬†Try it with your exfoliator or face mask and let me know how it goes! Don’t keep it on too long though. 20 minutes should do.

 

2 Responses to “The Skin Secret I Discovered by Accident!”

  1. ShalandaLeigh July 12, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

    I tried the Clinique moisturizer on my skin and it burned and left (nonvisible) scabs. So afraid to try anything else even though I hear so many people rave about the brand. However, I will try leaving my facial mask on in the shower next go round.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Essence July 31, 2014 at 10:37 am #

      Oh no! So sorry that happened to you. My skin is really sensitive too, but Clinique works really well for me. I’m sure trying this with your skincare of choice will still give amazing results!

      Like

Leave a Reply

