We Got To Pray Just to Make it Today (#HammerVoice): 7 Things to Pray For Every Day!

23 Jul

photo

Hey, You!

If you haven’t yet seen via my social media, I did some hair modeling for SheaMoisture at the World Natural Hair and Beauty Show this past Friday and Saturday. Both mornings I woke up around 7:30, got dressed and drove to West New York to catch the jitney because the NJ transit is irregular on the weekends. On my way to the jitney, I prayed and prayed and prayed… for a parking spot. LoL! The road I park on has limited spaces because it’s a residential area, so I feared all the available spaces would be taken and I’d have to drive ’round and ’round, running the chance of being late, until I found one.  Both days God heard my prayers and gave me great parking spaces in no ticket zones! Praying for a parking space may seem a little silly, but it worked. This praying for literally any and everything is something I adopted from my mother. She’s prayed for just about everything you can and can’t think of, including the revealing of lost car keys and step-by-step directions for a recipe. I know, I thought she was cray cray for the longest too. But turns out, she really just believes that ol’ church cliché, “Prayer changes things,” and because of her bold faith, praying for the most minute to major details of her life has worked in her favor. Whether you decide to pray for the revelation of a mac’n cheese recipe or missing socks is totally up to you, but after getting on the jitney and laughing about my parking prayer, I was reminded that what we hope and ask for is heard and granted, and I thought of a few things we all could pray for. Check out 7 of them below!

God, give me confidence that I may fall in love with and celebrate my total self. Reveal to me my greatness by drawing me closer to the You who lives inside of me. May my confidence radiate in a way that is not intimidating to others, but empowering so that they too are motivated to love and celebrate their total selves.

God, grant me wisdom in all that I do and say. Help me consider matters beyond the now so that I make the best decision for myself and others whom my decisions will affect.

God, strengthen my patience while You are working. In what seems to be my low moments and periods of transition, bless me with patience so that my peace of mind is preserved. Remind me that in Your time, which is the perfect time, all will be well.

God, release me of any bondage and grant me freedom. Freedom to love and to live in joy. Regardless of my financial or physical state, free my spirit so that I may always see hope, even in despair.

God, bring on the FUN! Restore my heart’s childlike innocence so that I will live a happy, fulfilled and healthy life. Brighten my smile so that it keeps my spirit light and brings joy to all I encounter.

God, sharpen my discernment. Clear all external and internal distractions so that I can appropriately judge situations. Tug my heart when someone or something is not in my best interest, and warm my heart when someone or something is for my good.

God, increase my faith each and every day. Build upon my faith in You, in humanity, in love, in the environment, in miracles. If I’m ever headed in a direction where my faith is diminishing, please pull me back and show me that You still are and will always be. There will never be anything or anyone worth my loss of faith in all things good and in You.

Amen

Love you all and Happy Wednesday ❤

Essy


UPDATE: Fashion Director and Beyoncé’s Stylist Ty Hunter Cosigns via Instagram!

Ty Hunter cosign

 

 

5 Responses to “We Got To Pray Just to Make it Today (#HammerVoice): 7 Things to Pray For Every Day!”

  1. Christi July 23, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    When I tell you this is EXACTLY what I needed to hear (read) this morning!!!!!! Prayer is so powerful from the smallest things that we may think God could care less about to the “impossible.” It is SO important and necessary! These are all great prayers to incorporate in daily life. Thanks, as always!, for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sudom121 July 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    Girl! AMEN AMEN AMEN This was right on for me! Thanks! definitely will be saving this page Lord knows these 7 things are just what i need at this time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Juanita July 23, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    YES!!!!!!!!! Love this post and definitely needed to read it today! Will be adding these things to my prayers for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. msglamdiva6 July 23, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! I found this today and I really, really appreciate it. This post blessed me. I think this is a good starting point for me RIGHT NOW, each point is so valid and necessary. God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Courtney Connley July 23, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

    So uplifting!!! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

