Fun & Easy CurlSistas DIY Hair Recipes I LOVE!

30 Oct

csbooksuppliesresized

Hey y’all!

Happy Thursday. So I couldn’t wait to share my latest love with all of you. I linked up with my girl Joy Adaézé (the fly fashionista, stylist and blogger known for her stylish turbans) last week to hear all about her latest endeavor, CurlSistas! Joy and her fiancé Obi collaborated to birth this amazing brand of textured clip-ins and

sew-in wefts. I actually ran into Joy at Oprah’s Life You Want Tour and she was rocking the new hair. Had I not known she’d just cut her hair, I would have thought it was all her own. In fact, my friend Courtney was with me and she had no clue the hair was clip-ins until Joy told us. That should give you an idea of how fabulous it is!

IMG_0779.JPG

The hair!!! Amaze, right? -curlsistas.com

As Joy preps to launch CurlSistas Hair this Friday, Oct. 31, she’s also releasing this cool, first of its kind e-book, The CurlSistas Guide to Natural Hair Products. The e-book will be available for download with the purchase of CurlSistas Hair, or you can purchase it separately for $5.99. What I love about this book is that all the recipes are DIY (Do It Yourself) and they call for ingredients that you already have in your fridge and pantry. I went through the book with Joy and was very impressed at how simple (and inexpensive) it was to whip up these amazing products! The CurlSistas Guide to Natural Hair Products includes:

  • 7 shampoo recipes, 5 conditioners, 5 moisturizer/leave ins, 1 detangler and 1 pre poo
  • An easy-to-follow ‘CurlSistas-customized’ hair regimen cheat sheet for maximum hair growth
  • Quick, easy-to-understand natural hair care information
  • Natural hair care glossary for the newly natural

10729339_334626196720416_609461808_nI tried the CurlSistas Creamy Coconut Milk Co-wash and CurlSistas Awesome Avocado Deep Conditioner. Oh-Emm-GEEEEEEEEE! I didn’t know exactly what to expect, because my hair is extremely thick. Both products worked wonders on my kinky-curly 4c Afro though! The Creamy Coconut Milk Co-wash was so gentle and, just like the name says, creamy. I thoroughly spritzed my hair with water and then applied the Co-wash to my scalp with an applicator bottle. I then began to massage it into my scalp with my fingers, and gently pulled it through my hair. I got in the shower and rinsed it out. My hair and scalp felt so clean, and not stripped and dry like other cleansers can leave your hair.

Second, I followed up with the Awesome Avocado Deep Conditioner. Let me just say that you will want to grab a bag of Tostitos and go innnn! It smells so very yum! I withstood, though, for the sake of this review:) I really wanted to see how the Deep Conditioner worked alone, so I didn’t mix it with any other conditioners or treatments. I scooped a little with my fingers, put it into my hands, and just worked it through my hair. I started from the back and worked my way up until all of my hair was covered with the Conditioner. Once the product was worked throughout my strands, I put on a plastic cap and let it sit for about 15 minutes. I then rinsed it completely out in the sink, which you can do with no worries of clogging because it’s really smooth with no clumps. The result? Not only was my hair soft, but my curls were beautifully defined and shiny!IMG_0663[1]

Now, both of these products are extremely quick and easy to make, and the ingredients are packed with nutrients your hair will love! Get the step-by-step in the new book with your purchase of CurlSistas Hair, or get it separately in November! Check out the deets and benefits below of the two products I tried.

CurlSistas Creamy Coconut Milk Co-Wash Ingredients

coconutcowashresized

Coconut is a super hair food because of its rich protein content, vitamin E, fats, and minerals. Coconut milk is effective for promoting growth, nourishing and moisturizing hair.  Coconut oil helps strengthen hair and reduce breakage by it’s efficient penetration inside the hair shaft giving hair full body and radiance.

  • Dr. Bronner’s Baby-Mild Castile Soap
  • Coconut Milk
  • Distilled Water
  • Castor Oil
  • Aloe Vera Juice
  • Honey
  • Vanilla Essential Oil

CurlSistas Awesome Avocado Deep Conditioner Ingredients

avocadoconditioneresized

Avocado contains protein, vitamin A, D, E, B6, magnesium, copper, iron, amino acids, and folic acid. It also has saturated and monounsaturated fats that easily penetrate the hair cuticle to provide support and strengthen the hair fiber.

  • Distilled Water
  • Avocado
  • Castor Oil
  • Vegetable Glycerin
  • Honey

Get your new CurlSistas Hair this Friday, along with The CurlSistas Guide to Natural Hair Products! You can also gift the e-book to your naturalista loved ones this season. Gather your girlfriends and have a DIY party and let me know how you like the hair recipes!

❤ ,

Essy

2 Responses to “Fun & Easy CurlSistas DIY Hair Recipes I LOVE!”

  1. Christi October 30, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Those clip ins look AMAZE!!!!! I need to learn how to braid so I can start using those lol! Def will be investing in that book, perfect for people like me who really need a step by step guide and prefer to read the steps as opposed to listening to someone try to tell you how to do something. This is great! I wish her much success!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Essence October 30, 2014 at 8:36 am #

      Yes, the whole brand is AMAZING! She also has wefts to so you can have a sew-in option!

      Like

Leave a Reply

