The Year of Execution

13 Jan

the year of executionHappy Monday, guys!

Sooooo, in case you didn’t see via one of my billion pics on social media, I just celebrated a birthday ❤ So exciting, right? I know! I’ve always been grateful every January 7th for another year of life, but something was different about this one. I had, and still have, an overwhelming feeling of gratitude.

This Mary Jane-less high didn’t just spark on my birthday though. It has been lingering since New Year’s and I just can’t seem to shake it. After deciding that I was going to bring my 2015 in at church with The Big Guy, a feeling of peace came over me. My line of work is very rush-rush and competitive and it’s really hard to step outside of that space, even when you’re not working. But as I traveled back to Jersey from NYC on New Year’s Eve, that subconscious wheels-always-turning chaos in mind slowed down and all I thought about was how excited I was for Watch Night Service. I had a gut feeling it was going to be special.

A few hours later, the time had come for me to make my way there. The pastor spoke about transformation and used the story of Jesus and Legion, the man possessed by a legion of demons, to relay the message (Mark 5). He used the scriptures about Jesus rebuking the demons out of Legion and making him whole again to remind us that no matter how out of control our circumstances, or even life, may appear, God remains the greatest power. He can make us and our situations new in an instant.

This message is a common one in church, but it touched me in a different way this time around. It was especially relevant as I began reflecting on life the past year and all of its highs and lows. What had begun as a rough start ended as smooth sailing. When I finally surrendered everything to God and fervently started praying, more thanking than asking, and going back to church consistently, things started lining up professionally and personally. 2014 was full of lessons, many painful to learn. Towards the end though, God made sense of them all and I came out of the year stronger and wiser than ever before. After praying in service, I knew that 2014 was my season of learning. Now, in 2015, it’s my season of execution (not the scary death kind, the action kind). I’m fully equipped to apply all that I learned and put it into action.

One of the biggest lessons I learned is that when it’s all said and done, it really is going to be okay. And by “it” I mean everything! Knowing that everything will be okay is all the push I need to execute, or “just do it.” I can take the first step, and then the second step and the third fully confident that the end vision will materialize. Even if I make a mistake and have to start over, it’s still all okay. As long as I keep putting in the action, success will eventually follow. If I make excuses or allow fear to hinder my execution, however, nothing will ever get off the ground.

So, whatever it is you want to accomplish this year, gather all of the lessons you learned last year and use them to make your first move. If you want to start a cookie company, bake some samples and hand them out at work. If you want to go back to school, fill out the application and submit it. If you want to start going back to church, wake up this Sunday and get your tushy there. Not only will everything you’ve learned and been through help you take the first step, but it’ll subtly guide your feet as you take the next steps. Don’t wait, make excuses or allow self-doubt to delay you any longer. Don’t try to figure out the perfect plan either. You don’t always have to have a detailed strategy to execute a plan; sometimes all you need is guts. Guts to make the call, to ask for the favor, to voice your opinion, or whatever it is your first step requires. Walk into your season of execution and start moving. You have everything you need!

Love you always ❤

Essy

 

 

6 Responses to “The Year of Execution”

  1. A.Lekay January 13, 2015 at 2:56 pm #

    This TRULY blessed me Essy! Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

  2. Juanita January 15, 2015 at 1:27 pm #

    Yes, yes, yes!!!! This is the year of execution indeed. Got to “get it done”. Amazing article, from an amazing woman! Keep up the awesome work.

    Like

    • Essence January 18, 2015 at 12:18 am #

      Thanks for reading! Here’s to getting it done!

      Like

  3. Gus Matthews January 18, 2015 at 12:16 am #

    Hey Essence! This is Gus, you just do not know how much your testimony just inspired me. Great read and it is just what I needed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Essence January 18, 2015 at 12:17 am #

      Wow! Thanks for reading, Gus! So happy it resonated with you ♥️

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To Fight Fear | The Essence Of... - January 22, 2015

    […] single, minute detail is going to come together right away, and after taking my own advice via “The Year of Execution,” I decided to stop prolonging and get the ball rolling. All of these fears, or False Evidence […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

